Something Right

While grading my kids’ journals, I paused to reflect in MY journal–about how much I love my students, how grateful I am that paper and pen prompt them to reveal the

experiencesthoughtsfearshopesregretssecrets

they might not share otherwise, how thrilling it is to watch literature light up their minds and hearts.

I stopped writing, continued reading, and encountered this: an indication that these challenging last few weeks haven’t entirely derailed me and my mission for my babies.

[“Dear Mrs. Graham the book that we are reading in your class called the rasin in the sun had really tought me alot in this class about not just the book but also my friends. I think if it werent for your class I would not step up for my self. And tell people my true opinion’s. When I no when I say something and someone agrees to it, it makes me fell like that Im actually doing somethin right for once.”]

Leave a Reply

