Verge

Things have been rough at school lately.

Last night I wrote an email–essentially apologizing for any incompetence but otherwise begging for support–to my principal and two department heads. It went virtually unanswered.

In the last few weeks, I have fought back tears at school several times; today alone, I nearly succumbed three times. Standing in my classroom, I willed myself to stay stoic, and internally cursed urban education.

And then, at my doorway and completely unprovoked, one of my typical troublemakers got my attention. “Did you hear me?”

I distractedly apologized and told her no.

“Oh. I said ‘I love you, Ms. Graham.'”

She made my day, and I made no secret to her about that.

 

Leave a Reply

