Body Language

These kids secretly made my day when, during a moment of exasperation, I leaned on the table in front of me, put my head down, and took a breath before responding to the chaos that had briefly unfolded in my classroom, they said this:

Student #1: “Oh, watch out, y’all, Ms. Graham’s angry. She’s bending her elbows out.”
Student #2, also noting my posture: “Yo, yo, chill. Ms. Graham’s about to kirk.”

I love that my double-jointed anatomy serves as a visual cue to observant children, who then help their peers self-correct–all without me needing to say a word. Thanks for the bendy elbows, Momma. They sure are handy.

 

Leave a Reply

