Zen

As soon as I walked into the building today, my favorite student (a boy from last year)–yes, teachers definitely have favorites!–literally shouted “GOOD MORNING, MS. GRAHAM!” when he saw me: a follow-up to my question yesterday as to whether he still loves me. So that of course secretly started my day off basically made. And then, a few hours later in third period–after one student told me I am never to say her name aloud, and another stormed out of the class cursing, “I hope all you bitches die,” I noted that my kids and I all needed a pick-me-up. They all secretly made my day when my instructions to meditate (without telling them that’s what we were doing) were not only followed, but worked. It was my first time teaching Zen teenagers, and I must say I loved it.

 

Leave a Reply

