Freedom Writers

Today’s “Kid, You Secretly Made My Day” came in the way of an unexpected compliment during third period.

Boy #1: “Ms. Graham, you seen that movie on tv last night? Freedom Writers?”
me: “Not last night, but I’ve seen it, yes.”
Boy #1: “You’re like the teacher in it.”
me: “Why? Because I’m a white chick teaching in the inner-city?”
Boy #2, chiming in from across the room, who I have had some issues with in the past: “Oooo, yeah, you ARE like that teacher.”
me, stupidly but curiously: “Is that a good thing or a bad thing?”
Boy #2: “A good thing. She cool.”

Oh, and apparently I look like Hilary Swank, too.

 

Leave a Reply

