Hands

I thought I had today’s “Kid, You Secretly Made My Day” in the bag when, immediately following the film adaptation “Of Mice and Men,” a boy in my first period class exclaimed, “Yo, the book was better!”

But then.

At 9:30, as our school joined several others in a moment of silence in memory of the victims of last week’s shooting, the students in my second period class spontaneously, without discussion, began to hold hands. And so we sat in a circle, heads bowed and hands linked, as we thought of the lives lost one week ago. I am so proud to be their teacher.

Leave a Reply

