Pray. Please.

[written in response to the stabbing at Heritage High School on October 1, 2012]

One of my former students was stabbed at school this morning, and I am earnestly trying to arrange my feelings about it into something I feel like I can conquer by the time I have to return to my responsibilities, my classroom, my kids tomorrow.

But that’s just not working out.

My initial numbness has warped into emotions so plentiful I can barely identify them, let alone work through them.

I just pray that, before I get to school, I get to a place where I will be able to deal with all the emotions my kids will certainly be feeling but also unlikely to have worked through.

I, they, we need courage, concord, and clarity of thought.

Please.

 

Leave a Reply

