Days

[written in Baltimore, MD, while teaching English at a Baltimore City Public High School]

I learned a few moments ago that one of the crimes that most struck me from last year (after the murder of Stephen Pitcairn) was committed by one of my current students and one of my future students. I’m mad at them. I’m disappointed in them. I’m scared for them. But I’m also going to make myself stay hopeful for them. Every day I see them in that school building is one less day they are out on the streets getting into more trouble, and one more day they are learning there IS more to life–I just pray they get enough of those days.

Leave a Reply

